🇳🇬

Balpolam Idi
2 min readFeb 24, 2023

My drafts are a mess. But I just had to.

It is the eve of one of the most defining moments of our nation in our lifetime. Everyone is feeling many things and honestly, all are well-deserved. I can not begin to quantify the shege you have seen, so please by all means feel your feelings.

I have a plea, exercise your civic right. This seems like an unnecessary thing because you struggled to get your PVC and right now, at this moment, you feel like nothing can stop you. But you might ingest a lot of fear and doubt before dawn. You may wake up tomorrow and not feel like joining a long queue (again). You’ve probably been queuing up at least three times every week for the past couple of weeks. I understand that too.

But don Allah, ejo, biko, mbok, kusuk I beg you with all you hold dear to do this for your children. — even if you plan to japa, still abeg. Just do this one thing.

Nigeria has been through a lot. Nigerians are going through a lot. Abeg let a lot end with Buhari’s administration. Come out and vote 🥺 please. I don’t have much faith in the system but I have absolute faith in God that this too shall pass. May this be the worst we’ll ever be. Amen.

Oh God of creation, Direct our noble cause

Guide our leaders right

Help our Youth the Truth to know

In love and honesty to grow

And living Just and True

Great lofty heights attain

To build a nation where Peace and Justice reigns

Image of me and my national flag on a good day

See you at the polls.

Love, Ballie💖

--

--

Balpolam Idi

Live, Love, Give. But most importantly, Dream. Learner. Teacher. Wanderer.