Knock You Down

Balpolam Idi
3 min readOct 22, 2022

This old song by Keri Hilson and Ne-yo’s lyrics are both sad and encouraging.

Sometimes love comes around
And it knocks you down
Just get back up
When it knocks you down
Knocks you down
Sometimes love comes around
And it knocks you down
Just get back up
When it knocks you down
Knocks you down

Text in ox blood against a white background reads “as long as you love me, I’m gonna hurt you. To love is to give one power to hurt you. And it is inevitable. Ballie ©2022”

I have been reshaping my lenses on love. The truth is that it hurts. To love is to hurt, and the two are inevitable. But one must decide whether to get back up again or stay down when hurt. I choose to try again. Trembling or wobbly on my feet. Love is worth it, whatever its form. I have been grieving my cat, Star. I have not taken time to address how I feel and I have refused to form any form of bond with the cats that live with us. I am grieving some friendships, my grandfather, and my friends who have passed on and all these places hurt because they were once occupied by the warmth of their love and laughter but are now void.

Text in grey on a white background reads “Please forgive me for all the times I said ‘I’m okay’. I didn’t dare to say I was not, and that I needed you. I need a hug. I’m not strong. I’m not okay. yet. Ballie ©2022”

On permitting yourself to be weak. Hey, it’s okay to break down into a hot mess. You don’t have to have it all figured out. You don’t need to be in control. Sometimes, let go and breathe. And I promise, if no one is there to rub your back while you ugly cry or shed hot tears, I’ll be rooting for you from here.

Grey text on a white background reads “It feels like a few needles are poking my lungs tonight. I’m finding it hard to breather. Sometimes, the pain of loneliness is not in being alone but in being surrounded by so many who are not there for you. Ballie ©2022”

On dealing with the absence of people who are around you. You cannot control the actions of others. But we promised to lead with honesty at the start of the year, so we’ll let people know how we feel. Be it neglected, unheard, misunderstood, inadequate, not a priority, third wheel, or even a burden. But remember, it is how you feel. And though your feelings are valid and respected, they could be giving you the wrong impression. So when we speak up about how we feel, we must learn to listen.

In all this, my darling, apply wisdom. For I too, am learning, bending and melting. To digest these ways known to the ancient beauty called wisdom.

All my love (even when it hurts), Ballie💖

Thank you for reading. In case you’re interested, I drop short quotes quite often on my IG, you can connect with me here . Thank you for clapping consistently, I’ve been getting more readership. You’re the best! xoxo

--

--

Balpolam Idi

Live, Love, Give. But most importantly, Dream. Learner. Teacher. Wanderer.